So I took C to the store today…

September 5, 2011

R didn’t want to clean, so I just took C. (A was out of the question). Goals included:

1) Finishing out the school supplies. I was shocked at the state of Target- thought I was going to be able to do it all there. Nope. Their school supplies section was EMPTY. And the lines at checkout were LONG- only two cash registers open. WTH? This is not normal Target stuff. So, we had to go to Office Max, which was much better stocked. We have almost everything now- I need to fill the bags (living on the kitchen table) with a few more things before the preschool year starts on Tuesday, but almost set.

2) Black flats. I’m terribly ashamed to admit this, but my feet are hurting enough at 28 weeks that I’m not wanting to wear my normal shoes. So bought some kids’ black Mary Janes with rubber soles. They’re nice and simple. Got some nice black shoes with velcro for C as well- they don’t quite match mine (more kiddish shape) but nice and simple and she should be able to wear them with everything. (Also bought, as a treat for myself, some argyle-patterned tights. I love patterned tights).

Fourth pregnancy, and this is the first time I’ve needed to wear flats. My ankles are a little swollen- first time that’s ever happened either. Is it a boy thing, or is it an I’m-getting-old thing?

3) Baskets to put on the shelves where we keep shoes in the hall, so you can’t see the shoes. The shelves are 20×9. No luck so far at Pier One, Target, and TJ Maxx. I am going to try World Market next week and if still no luck, I may think about custom-cutting, taping, and covering some diaper boxes.

We had lunch at Panera. Not somewhere I’d normally go, but figured we’d be able to find something for C there- she finished a whole kids’ grilled cheese meal (with yogurt) and we split a big cookie. I had broccoli cheese soup in a bread bowl with bread on the side. It was GOOD and now I want more broccoli cheese soup- maybe will make my own soon. And think my snack for tonight will be french bread with brie.

Yes, Pascal has a taste for bread.

Leave a Reply

