I Hate Barbie

September 10, 2011

But not because she creates unrealistic body images or is a bad feminist role model. I can overcome all that stuff.

I hate Barbie because she has a zillion tiny pieces which are mostly necessary to make her interesting, and because her hair gets very messy, very quickly. And both these things go against my organized nature and ability to keep the kids’ stuff quasi-tidy.

I might be persuaded to change my mind on this topic when the girls are older and keep their own stuff in good order.

But until then, world, please do not buy my children Barbies, Barbie accessories, etc. Or really, anything with small pieces.

Leave a Reply

