Notes about Eggs

September 11, 2011

1. I never realize the impact of having three kids as much as when I cook eggs. All of a sudden, a dozen eggs isn’t very many. We fly through eggs and never buy as many as we need. 1-2 eggs per kid and 2-3 per adult can kill a carton of eggs FAST.

2. R LOVES eggs. I love making them for her. The kids are all somewhat picky (I assume it’s the age, because I’m doing everything right for them not to be), but she will gladly eat any egg, anytime, anyhow. So it makes me feel like I’ve cooked something awesome to see her plow through a plate of eggs in 10 seconds flat.

3. Scrambled eggs. It has taken me a lot of practice to get good at them, but the secret to really good (moist but cooked) scrambled eggs is to cook them low- on my oven, at about a three. I beat them up and pour them into a sprayed pan on low, then let them sit a minute or two, then stir as they cook. LOW. Otherwise the edges and bottom cook too fast and they dry out and/or you get raw spots (ew).

4. My FAVORITE form of egg is the cheese omlet. This dates back to my college days, when one of the wonderful cafeteria ladies would stand in front of an omlet griddle on Mondays and Thursdays and Sundays and make eggs or omlets to order. My order was always both kinds of cheese (yellow and white, probably cheddar and mozzarella) and, if it was on the line that day, I’d crumble up bacon and bring that for them to throw in too. Their omlets were thin and they were generous with the cheese which would ooze out of the middle. Oh, the wonderful omlet ladies…

Anyway, it’s taken me YEARS to replicate their omlets, but I finally have been able to, just recently. My problem was mostly trying to cook them on the big front burner of my stove, which is slightly tilted, and they weren’t cooking evenly.

So what I do is beat three eggs. I start the skillet about a four on the BACK large burner, which is VERY FLAT, and I use my cast iron skillet- again, sprayed. Butter is lovely but doesn’t coat as evenly. LOTS of cooking spray. Three eggs is about right though two works. Four is too many.

I pour the beaten eggs on, roll the skillet around so they coat the circular bottom of the pan, and DO NOT TOUCH for a few minutes. Then I use the rubber spatula to start running around the edges, lifting them up slightly and letting any runny egg slide off and directly onto the skillet. Once the edges are firm, I assume the middle is (the middle of the burner cooks faster on my stove). I use my big spatula to pick up the whole thing and flip it. Carefully. If it rips, just arrange it flat on the other side.

It should be yellow, not brown, on the other side. Brown means you cooked too long. It should be mostly dry though runny edges or runny parts falling off when you flip are fine, those will cook.

Once flipped, I hit the cheese right away. The cafeteria ladies used to do it down the middle and flip over the sides, but since they had the griddle, their omlets were bigger and thinner than mine, so I hit cheese over a half the omlet (lots of cheese!) and fold the other half over it right away. Cook for a few moments, then flip the whole (now half-circle shaped) omlet over and cook the other side for a few moments. The cheese will mostly melt itself pretty fast.

I like mine with cajun seasoned salt. Mmmmm, omlets.

5. This morning, however, I just had two scrambled eggs, because I have cooked the banana bread I was craving! I wanted someone else to make it for me. And have it ready the moment I wanted it. But given that that would be impossible without a time machine and a husband willing to wake at 5am on a Sunday… I made it myself. It’s in the oven now. I WANT IT.

Leave a Reply

