Meal Planning

September 24, 2011

I’ve been really slack about this lately, and as a result, we’ve been eating way too much takeout and way too many go-to meals.  (This often equals mini pizzas for the girls on those wheat sandwich breads, or PB&J, and things like Hot Pockets for Sean and whatever’s around for me.  Or brownies.)

That said, I’m not sure I have the energy to actually cook and coordinate more than that right now.  I’m hoping to get back to it when I go on maternity leave.  But the best thing I’ve done lately is make something big in the crockpot on Sundays and then eat it for lunch myself most of the week.  Which at least saves me buying lunch somewhere.   I do need to cook more.  Especially now that it’s crockpot season, that should help. So I at least need to THINK about it more.

I’ve been wanting broccoli and cheese soup for over a week now.  (It’s not an actual craving, or I’d have lost my mind by now, just a desire.)  The only problem is that not one other person in my house will eat it if I make it, and I mostly cook big.  Trying to find a recipe that doesn’t use Velveeta… Velveeta grosses me out.  (I am not a food snob about processed foods generally… mostly just fake cheese.)  Think I’ll try this and do it tomorrow.  For me.

Probably it’s time to do mac and cheese again.  With cauliflower.  I’ll write down my homemade mac and cheese recipe when I do it.

Sean is requesting corned beef in the crockpot.  That’s easy for one weeknight.

And I’m thinking sloppy joes with turkey.  We have ground turkey in the freezer I bought on sale.  I may throw in some frozen vegetables chopped small.

 

Leave a Reply

