Atlas Shrugged

November 14, 2011

It’s my favorite book since college and prompted a large part of how I think about the world.  I’m currently re-reading it AGAIN, this time on my Kindle.  The Kindle’s fun for this since I’ve been making notes and highlights, which I’ve never done before.  I’ll admit that they’re made with the hope that my husband will finally pick the book up one of these days and be able to see my notes as he reads- he’s my intended audience for them.  Maybe if we get him an e-reader he’ll forget how long the book is and get into it.

In other news, the movie came out on DVD this week, and I can’t find it- both Best Buy and Walmart sort of shrugged, though the guy at Walmart told me I wasn’t the first to request it.  Vast left-wing conspiracy perhaps?  I missed it in theaters just by virtue of being TOO DAMN BUSY and really want to see it, and it’s important to me to buy it, because the more money people put into it, the better the chances are that they actually complete and release Parts 2 and 3.  The clips I’ve seen are awesome and I’m pretty sure I’ll be into it.

(Plus, Judy Gellar as Mama Rearden?  Sign me up for that.  I’ll note that she also played Drew Barrymore’s mother in Wedding Singer.  “Have you considered FAKING a PREGNANCY?”  That actress playing oppressive mothers never gets old.)

2 Responses to “Atlas Shrugged”

  1. Aimee said

    My dad is fascinated by Ayn Rand & read Atlas Shrugged last year. It got him back into reading. I was impressed he never gave up, even with my mom harassing him & telling him he wasn’t making progress. Nice. Anyway, he LOVED it. He also thinks that the book is pretty much a reflection of how he sees the world. I’ve never read the book before, but my dad talks to me about it all the time.

    My parents saw the movie (the first part, that is) in the theater when it came out. My dad tried not to be too critical, knowing it would be impossible to make a movie that stuck to every detail of the book. He can’t wait for the next installment of the movie.

    Now, my dad’s on a kick of reading Graham Greene (has been for about a year) & loves talking about The Third Man and Our Man in Havana. 🙂

    I’m pretty sure he’ll get to The Fountainhead at some point. Have you read that?

    I am so grateful to have a dad who READS & doesn’t read total crap all the time.

    Aimee 🙂

    • Lindsey said

      Tell your dad I love him. 🙂 My dad likes it too. It’s a BIIIIIG book to get into if you’re not a huge reader and I feel the same way about it reflecting my view on the world. Also felt the same about not wanting to be too critical of the movie. I think they did a pretty good job… need to post about it.

      You should totally pick it up. Even if it’s not your cup of tea politically, it’s thought provoking, and the writing is interesting… Ayn Rand is a very flawed writer (no one ever told her “show, don’t tell”) but I absolutely love certain passages and techniques she uses. She so rarely does a physical description of something or someone that the ones she does really stand out and are striking, And the book is essentially a mystery with a complicated plot and a cast of thousands, and she balances it really well, especially the slow way the mystery unfolds.

Leave a Reply

