Back on the Treadmill

November 21, 2011

I’m back on it!  Got on last night determined to go 3 miles but pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to make it that far.  Right before I gave birth, I struggled to WALK a mile.

Got on and ran 3.1 at 5 mph.  It was BRUTAL.  But I did it.  I DID IT.  I was remembering my old LJ friend Koreen who started running at 2 weeks postpartum with TWINS, and my friend Jennifer who’s lost 120 pounds running after her kids were born, and a bunch of other people I know… I was remembering the mantras from the Marathon Training Academy podcast… and about 2.5 miles in, C wandered by and said, “Mommy, you okay?”

“Nope!”

“Mommy, you gonna never give up?”

THAT’S my girl.  So I had to show her I wasn’t going to give up.  And somehow I did it.  In 37:11… my best 5K time ever is about 29:00, but I’m not complaining, I’m just so thrilled I was able to run three miles without stopping.

Took today off and walked a bit with Sean and the kids.  (Still getting used to not saying “the girls”).  Just over a mile, stretched out my legs.  Then I read two issues of Runners’ World and got excited all over again.  Planning to try for three runs a week- two hard, and one long.  Going to do my long run on Thanksgiving morning this week, since I did that last year and remember it going really well.  Shooting for a slow 5 miles.  And by slow, I mean probably starting at a snail’s pace.

Tomorrow, I’ll likely walk again and do some stretching and more work around the house.  I swear I burned 500 calories carrying things around today.  I’ve been starved tonight.

8K in March- same one I ran just after finding out I was pregnant with J in 2011.

Half-marathon in 2012.

Leave a Reply

