I Don’t Feel Like an Older Mom

November 26, 2011

I don’t feel like an older mom, until I take the 3-year-old to a school friend’s birthday party, and discover I’m closer in age to the birthday girl’s grandmother than her mom.  Eek!

And here I am, thinking I had my kids at a good moderate age.  Maybe by “good, moderate” I mean, “good and moderate for this age, day, and time, my education level and social class, etc.  My kids were born when I was between 29-34.  I’m still 34.  That’s not even over the 35 doom-and-gloom pregnancy cutoff known as “advanced maternal age”!

(Except the birthday girl’s mom had her when she was 19 or 20.  So no wonder I feel suddenly old.  Birthday girl has a 5-year-old UNCLE.)

Eh, I’m not bothered.  I know plenty of people who had kids older than me.  And if I age like my parents have, I’ll do just fine.

In other news, R was very well-behaved at the birthday party.  She was the only school friend there but the birthday girl was thrilled to see her and we made a good call on the Strawberry Shortcake doll gift.  People at the party (the extended family) kept telling me R was “quiet and pretty”.  Funny, since I don’t think of her as quiet, but the birthday girl is a talker like C is, so in comparison, I suppose R seems quiet.  Everyone as usual went nuts over her hair.  And I had Baby J with me, so he was a hit.

R didn’t want to leave behind the Strawberry Shortcake doll gift.  I had to remind her that back at home, Dad was assembling her new bed.  That did it.

She also ate two pieces of cake and a giant scoop of ice cream, which she picked up with her fork and ate whole.

R is awesome.

3 Responses to “I Don’t Feel Like an Older Mom”

  1. LB said

    You should move here. I practically feel like a teenage mom at 32.

  2. Aimee said

    Or, you could be me– 34 & less and less likely to ever have children…. It depresses the hell out of me sometimes.

Leave a Reply

