A Sci-Fi Original Miniseries

December 7, 2011

I love Sci-Fi movies.  I mean general science fiction, but specifically the original movies produced for the Sci-Fi channel.  (I refuse to call it Scy-Fy.  That’s dumb.)

Have been looking forward to Neverland for a few weeks now, since I started seeing the commercials, since I particularly loved the previous miniseries they did based on old stories- Tin Man, based on Wizard of Oz, and Alice, as in, in Wonderland.  (Alice was released the week after my Alice was born, purely by coincidence… I had no idea it was coming).  They’re delightfully ridiculous, the special effects are decent, and they are very creatively cast in a bizarre way.

(Transporter Chief Miles O’Brien as the King of Hearts opposite Oscar-winner Kathy Bates as the Queen.  Just sayin’.)

I like how they play fast and loose with the stories (the wicked witch is Dorothy’s sister?  of course.) and the cinematography is interesting.  Or rather, possibly, done by people who smoke a lot of pot.  Also, there was a genuinely terrifying moment in Tin Man (for me, anyway) and a genuinely disturbing one in Alice.

So plan for tonight, after I feed the baby, is a beer, a bag of Snyder’s Honey Mustard Pretzel Nibblers (my horrible snack of choice for a while now) and Neverland.  While addressing holiday cards/birth announcements.  Don’t blame me for my guilty pleasures… I steam cleaned the carpet today.

One Response to “A Sci-Fi Original Miniseries”

  1. Deb Warren said

    I watched part of it yesterday. I’m not sure about it. I guess it didn’t hit me the right way….it could, but I may not have been in the right frame of mind for it last night.

Leave a Reply

