My Baby’s Growing Up!

December 26, 2011

Joe starts school tomorrow.  I’m in the midst of my once-a-kid mourning for his babyhood.  Spent the afternoon on the couch cuddling him.  I just want to hug hug hug hug him and I’m all worried about what happens tomorrow when I’m not around if he cries.  And how I’ll get through the day without a baby to hold and that little face to look at.

The answer is… I’ll cry when I drop him off, then probably be just fine, as I have been in the past, and so will he.  I trust Miss Shirley completely.

His stuff is packed- not yet labeled, but all packed up.  Need to put his name on everything tonight.  Have also prepared (not labeled either) bottles of thawed milk. Girls’ stuff all put together for tomorrow.

Made myself little oatmeal-and-frozen-berries-and-flax packets to take to work for breakfasts this week.  Now that I have my mini-fridge, I can just throw four breakfasts right in there on Tuesday.  Made my lunch for tomorrow.  Still need to check e-mail and pack up laptop, go through paperwork, blah blah blah blah blah.  I have a little thawed milk left over that C can give to J in a bottle tonight for bottle-feeding practice for her.  Ounce or so.

Ugh, feeling stressy about letting my baby go.  I know it’ll be as fine as it always has, it’s just always hard the first time or two.

2 Responses to “My Baby’s Growing Up!”

  1. I empathize with how you feel. We worry so much about how our children are going to get on in life on their own we forget to consider how we will cope with someone to care for.

    After my daughter Emma was born I spent a week out of work with my wife and baby. The first day I went back was somber. I said my goodbyes and headed out the door.

    I sat in the train with a feeling of emptiness. I called my wife and told how I was feeling. She told me that she broke down in tears after I left.

    The time we spent together with Emma was almost too wonderful. That sense of togetherness you only feel when you have a baby is something you want to last forever but its fleeting nature is what makes it so special.

Leave a comment