K2 Down by 2

April 18, 2012

We got a letter from the school today that both A’s teachers “are no longer employed” at the daycare.

I’m irritated.  I’m willing to give the administration the benefit of the doubt, because I know they were stuck between a rock and a hard place.  If I had to guess, I’d guess the state pressed them hard to fire her and their insurance company told them they had to.  And the other one went either because she got caught in the crossfire or because she was just plain ticked.

However, given how forthcoming they were at first (and given that, in my opinion, they owe us one for not raising a fuss), Sean and I are both quite annoyed that we had to hear this in the generic letter sent home to the whole class.

I want to know the story.  We’re not going to pull our kids out of the school, that would be stupid.  They’ve been there for five years and done great, never a problem, and even this isn’t something I’d consider a problem with the kids.  The school has their safety in mind first and I appreciate that, and I respect how hard it is to find a school like this.  And they’re reasonably priced.  Very.

But if it turns out the state put any pressure on them, especially if it turns out that was the deciding factor, I’m going to be calling back the DSS lady who never returned my messages.  And her boss.  I’m NOT happy with this.

Leave a Reply

