XXX

August 7, 2012

(Not Motherboy XXX*).

Olympic events I like which I expect to like:

  • Gymnastics, both men and women
  • The marathon.  I like distance running.
  • The swimming relay races.

Olympic events I like which I didn’t expect to:

  • The cycling road race.  The strategy fascinates me, and so do the quick repairs, the crashes, the way spectators are practically ON the course, and how they pull stuff out of their back pockets.  All this, and I don’t really care for bike riding myself.
  • Indoor volleyball.  So neat!  The big teams and how they work together.
  • Strong ladies lifting and throwing heavy things.

Olympic events I find boring:

  • Water polo.  I WANT to like it.  But it’s not watchable.
  • Fencing.  Neat in practice.  Not much to watch.
  • Any short distance racing, track or swimming.  Too many heats.
  • Beach volleyball.  Fun the first time, then it gets old.
  • Tennis.  Ordinarily I can watch a bit of it, but it’s not much in comparison to the rest of the Olympics.
  • Basketball.  Could not care less.

Olympic events I just don’t get (and maybe don’t want t0):

  • Indoor biking.  I like the word “velodrome”.  But why do they go slow sometimes?  Why have a “pace bike” for like 5 laps of an 8 lap race?  What’s up with the chase stuff?
  • Trampolining.  WTF.  In my mind, these are guys who were signed up for gymnastics, but weren’t strong enough, but loved bouncing.  Their pants are tight.  The coach holding the mat off to the side puzzled me til I saw one of them use it.
  • Table tennis.  Why do they do that little bounce the ball off the table thing before they serve?

 

*Speaking of Motherboy XXX, HOW ABOUT THIS?!?!?!?

http://gawker.com/5932438/its-official-new-arrested-development-season-starts-shooting-today

Leave a Reply

